New Philharmonic Presents:

A Salute to Frida

$40 per household | streaming on demand through June 15

Premiering Saturday, May 15, 7:30p

Show Details

Michelle Areyzaga: Soprano
Jesse Donner: Tenor
Ben Bogart: Bandoneon

Celebrate the heritage of Frida Kahlo through the rhythm and sounds of Mexico, in anticipation of the major exhibit of her works to be held right here at the MAC in June 2021. Selection of works by Mexican born composers include the beautiful melodies of Agustin Lara’s Granada and the intoxicating and percussive dance rhythms of Arturo Marquez’s Danzon and Silvestre Revueltas Sanchez’ Noche de los Mayas (Night of the Maya). Concluding our musical journey into the Latin American sounds of Frida Kahlo’s world, film composer Luis Bacalov’s Misa Tango sets the traditional mass to the dance rhythms of the tango. This work features soprano and tenor vocalists, a 90-voice chorus, as well as the bandoneon accordion known for riving the sultry sound of the tango.

When buying an on-demand ticket online, the event date listed is the last day it is available for streaming. 
When you purchase a ticket, you’ll receive a confirmation email with a link to access the show online. Your show will be available with that link beginning May 15, 7:30p, and will continue to be available on-demand through June 15.

We’re offering a three-show $99/household subscription that includes A Night of Broadway & Opera, Rachmaninoff Piano Concertos and A Salute to Frida.

New Philharmonic is grateful for season support from:

New Philharmonic is the winner of the 2020 Illinois Council of Orchestra’s
Programming of the Year Award.
[fbcomments width="100%" count="off" num="3" countmsg="wonderful comments!" scheme="dark" ]